Current Elections

Election 2018: Congress and State Government

At the May 15 primary voters will be selecting Democratic candidates for US Congress, state government, and state and local Democratic Committee members. The Club endorsement will have increased significance in these mid-term elections. The Club will be endorsing candidates for:


  • U.S. Senate
  • U.S. House of Representatives – 14th District of PA


  • PA Governor
  • PA Lieutenant Governor
  • PA House – 23rd, 24th and 34th Districts
  • PA State Democratic Committee

Important Dates

  • Sunday, Jan. 28           14WIDC Annual Meeting
  • Tuesday, March 6        City Council District 8 Special Election
  • Monday, April 16         Last Day to register before the Primary Election
  • Saturday, April 21       14WIDC Fund Raising Event
  • Sunday, April 22         14WIDC Endorsement Meeting and Candidate Forum
  • Tuesday, May 15          PRIMARY ELECTION DAY

Special Election for City Council District 8 – Tues. March 6

In December 2017, Mayor Peduto announced that City Councilman Dan Gilman would become his new Chief of Staff triggering a special election to fill the District 8 seat. City council President Bruce Kraus has scheduled a special election on Tuesday, March 6 for the open seat to represent District 8, which includes Oakland, Point Breeze, Shadyside and Squirrel Hill.

NOTE: The 14WIDC will hold a candidate forum for this special election at our Jan. 28 Annual Meeting.

Several candidates have announced their intent to run for this seat:

  • Sonja Finn, owner of Dinette, a restaurant in Shadyside
  • Martin Healey, owner of Martin Healey Design & Build, general contrator
  • Erika Strassburger, Chief of Staff for Councilman Gilman
  • Rennick Remley, Republican candidat

2017 14WIDC Endorsements

Members of the 14WIDC met on Sunday April 23, 2017 for the Annual Endorsement Meeting. Members had the opportunity to listen to candidates for office and then vote to endorse their chosen candidates.

The Club’s official endorsements for 2017 were:

  • PA Supreme Court Justice: Dwayne Woodruff
  • Allegheny County Sheriff: Bill Mullen
  • City of Pittsburgh Mayor: Bill Peduto
  • Pittsburgh City Council – District 8: Dan Gilman
  • Pittsburgh School Board – District 1: Sylvia C. Wilson
  • Pittsburgh School Board – District 5: Terry Kennedy
  • Magisterial District Justice: District 5-2-35: Dan Butler
  • PA Superior Court: Carolyn H. Nichols, Geoff Moulton, Maria McLaughlin, and Debbie Kunselman
  • PA Commonwealth Court: Ellen Ceisler and Todd Eagen
  • Allegheny County Court of Common Pleas: Patrick Connelly and David Spurgeon